30 minute turn around stir-fry

I am so excited for this blog that I just don’t know where to begin. There are so many things that I want to make and introduce you guys to I just want to post them all right now! But what fun would that be if there were no surprises to come?! With this in mind I am just going to have to contain myself and stick to one meal at a time.

Today I was walking around downtown contemplating what I wanted to make for dinner tonight and then it hit me. As I was walking by this Thai food place I randomly got a craving for something with a soy sauce taste to it ( I know completely different) but it helped me figure out what we are going to cook today! A quick, easy, and healthy stir fry seemed to be just what I needed to hit the spot. In this stir fry I used Braggs liquid aminos to take the place of the traditional soy sauce to marinate and sauté my vegetables in. It is a much healthier choice because it does not contain all of the sodium soy sauce has and it is also vegan as well as gluten free! I also used extra vigil olive oil to help me sauté the vegetables as well. Ever since I got back from Italy I have been addicted to olive oil and carry it with me everywhere. Its weird I know but what can I say, the Italian rubbed off on me!

So before I started cooking, I cut up some broccoli, red and green bell peppers, onions, I sliced some garlic, and I also added some celery to give it an extra crunch. When these were all sliced and diced I put them into a sauté pan with the extra virgin olive oil and the  liquid aminos and set the stove top to high and covered the pan. This let the vegetables sort of marinate and cook at the same time. I cooked this for 6 minutes in 2 minute increments, tossing it every 2 minutes. At the 4 minute mark I took the lid off to let some of the liquid evaporate for the last 2 minutes. The most time you are going to spend on this dish is cutting the vegetables before you sauté them. The best thing about this is that you do not need a Wok. It only takes olive oil and liquid aminos to get the great tastes out of it!

With this dish I also prepared some brown rice. It is a cup of brown rice to every one and a fourth cup of water letting it steam for one hour. This is the part of the meal that can help make you more full. If you don’t have a steamer, just add 1/8 more cup of water and put it in a sauce pan with a little bit of olive oil, about a tablespoon; let it come to a boil and then reduce it to a slow bubble for an hour after it is at a boil. The rice takes the longest to cook but it is worth it.

After it is all done cooking, you want to put the brown rice down first. Keep in mind you do not want to have more than a palm full of each food. On top of the brown rice, put your vegetables. This is an excellent combination and give the rice a better flavor (even though brown rice is awesome by itself). If you want, you can add some meat to it- I suggest fish or if you have to have meat, chicken. These are the most lean choices and fish is high in amino acids.

I loved the flavoring of this meal and I cannot wait to make it again. My family also loved it- they almost ate it all before I could get any of it! Let me know what you guys think and if you have any questions or comments, don’t hesitate to ask!! I hope you enjoy this meal as much as I did! Stay tuned for another recipe tomorrow! I know I can’t wait to share another meal with you!

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

