The stuffed mushroom.

I don’t know about you guys but I used to not be a fan of mushrooms. They smelled weird and they tasted quite strange. I never ate them when I was a little kid until my mom made me stuffed mushrooms. She put cream cheese in them and baked them in the oven until they were brown on top, to say the least they are delicious but SO unhealthy and definitely not something you could eat as a dinner. I am here today to show you a delicious, healthy alternative you can make in place of these cream cheese stuffed mushrooms I speak about. I got this recipe from Taralynn who is the blogger and she has awesome healthy recipes as well so you should check her blog out! Once I tried these I was hooked and I want to make them all of the time so I figured we should take a stab at it today. For this dish you will need:

  • 3 ounces day-old white bread (about 3 slices), crusts removed
  • 2 scallions, white and light-green parts only, roughly chopped. For this I used 2 things of green onions.
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and roughly chopped
  • 3 ounces fresh goat cheese
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1 ounce dry Monterrey Jack or Parmesan, grated
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 48 button mushrooms (about 1 1/2 pounds), stems removed and caps cleaned

after you have all of the ingredients you want to:

  1. Pulse the bread in the bowl of a food processor until finely chopped. Transfer to a bowl. Place the scallions, bell pepper, and goat cheese in the bowl of a food processor, and pulse until finely chopped and well combined. Transfer mixture to the bowl with the bread crumbs, and stir. Stir in the cilantro, half the grated Monterey Jack, salt, and pepper.
  2. Heat oven to 350 degrees; position rack in the center of oven. Place mushroom caps, cups facing upward, on a large cookie sheet. Spoon a heaping teaspoon of stuffing mixture into each cap. Bake until mushrooms are tender and filling is hot, 15 to 20 minutes. Remove mushrooms, turn oven to broil, and position rack about 4 inches from broiler. Sprinkle mushrooms with remaining grated cheese, and broil until cheese is golden, about 1 minute. Serve immediately.

Each one of these little delicious mushrooms is 18 calories. If this doesn’t fill you up then have a good white fish or some chicken with it. Remember to keep it healthy and have the appropriate proportions! I hope you guys love this recipe as much as I do! Let me know what you think or if you have any suggestions to make this better! Thanks for reading.

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

