Lets try this out

Alright everyone, so this weekend I was kind of lazy in making dinner for my family. I went out of town to have a reunion with the people I went to Italy with and just didn’t find the time to make dinner myself 😦 sad I know but we can still talk about a healthy recipe and ways to cook! Don’t you worry your pretty little minds!

I have had my eye on this recipe I found while browsing Pinterest and it looks absolutely AMAZING! Its just a salad BUT it has so much in it that I think we could make a meal out of it! It is so nutritional and probably very delicious I mean once I show you the recipe, I don’t blame you if you go to the store and buy all the ingredients. In fact GO DO IT and then let me know what you think about it! Like I said, I found this salad on Pinterest but the actual recipe comes from Chris. She has some amazing recipes on her blog I can’t wait to try and, it was quite interesting to read the story behind her blog so you guys should definitely check it out! Are you just shaking with anticipation yet? I know I am. I won’t keep this from you anymore, here is the recipe you all must try, I know I will by the end of the week! Thank you Chris for having such an amazing looking salad!

Cranberry-Avocado Salad with Candied Spiced Almonds and Sweet White Balsamic Vinaigerette:

Ingredients for the dressing:

⅓ cup sugar (for this I would use natural sugar to make it more healthy or a sweetener like Stevia but not a lot or else it will be too sweet!)

1 ½ tablespoons poppy seeds

1 ½ tablespoons sesame seeds

½ teaspoon paprika

2 teaspoons dried mustard

1 tablespoon minced sweet onion

½ teaspoon sea salt

¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

½ cup white balsamic vinegar

⅓ cup vegetable oil

⅓ cup extra virgin olive oil

Ingredients for the salad:

12 ounces baby spinach, arugula, field greens

1 small bunch cilantro, washed and dried, leaves removed whole from stems

2 medium avocados, peeled and halved

¾ cup dried cranberries

¾ cup Candied Spiced Almonds ( I would leave these out and add regular almonds for the sake of health, unless you only have a few 🙂 )

Directions:

1. For the dressing, combine all ingredients in a pint sized glass jar and shake well to dissolve sugar.

2. For the salad, place greens and cilantro leaves in a large bowl. Add avocado and dried cranberries and about 1/4 cup of the dressing and toss gently. Scatter candied almonds over salad and sprinkle with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.

In the ingredients as many of you saw, I told you to use a natural sugar or a sweetener and to leave out the candied almonds. This is only because we are eating healthy and these are some things you can do as substitutions to make it more on the healthy side. But when I make it I will let you know what I did and if it tasted any different than using normal sugar or the candied almonds, but I highly doubt it will! Aren’t you all just SO excited to make this! I know I am. I LOVE avocado and spinach. I would eat them both every day if I could but what fun would that be? I love trying out new recipes and I hope you guys are here to do it with me! Thanks for reading and don’t forget to tell me what you think! You can even include pictures if you would like! It’s always fun to see how people do things differently than you would. Have a great week everyone, I will talk to you soon.

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

