What’s better than a road trip? Veggies for snacks thats what!

I have been quite the traveler lately and not been able to make any fancy meals while on the road, sorry guys forgive me! But while traveling I have been able to maintain a healthy diet with the help of some great snacks! Since I couldn’t take you with me on the road to San Francisco, I decided to let you in on what I did take with me…SNACKS!

While traveling I know it is easy to let your diet go down the drain and eat all the food you can when you’re there, including sweets. But it is also easy to maintain your healthy diet if you plan ahead! It is not that big of a pain because you usually take snacks with you on the road incase you get the munchies while driving. Instead of taking those snacks that are high in calories and fats take an assortment of fruits, vegetables, and lots of water! The more water you drink the more full you feel so the less you will eat. Oh the joy of having water 🙂  not to mention water is the best drink you could give your body.

The day before leaving, go to the store and buy all the fruits and vegetables that sound good to you while you’re there. I would say to shop hungry but we all know that can lead to some unwanted purchases when you get home, not to mention a belly ache from eating too much, so don’t do that! When you get home, clean everything with some vegetable and fruit scrub (you can get this at Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, probably Raleys). Then chop it all up and put it into little bags that you can easily store in a little cooler! Bring them all with you on your road trip so you don’t have to stop at the store and get those pesky little  unhealthy snacks on the way.

Don’t forget to bring your water, when you are feeling hungry or like you want a snack first take a drink of water. If you’re still hungry after have one of your prepared foods you brought with you! If you don’t mind stopping to use the bathroom on the way, drink all the water you want! But if you are like me and don’t like stopping only take sips of your water along the way.

This is what I did the night before I left. I went to the store and I got one red and one green bell pepper, a cucumber, carrots, red onion, romaine lettuce, and a Green Machine Naked Juice…my favorite! yum. I had a grapefruit at my house so I didn’t need to buy anymore of those, even though I wanted to because they looked so appetizing. I wanted so badly to get some grape tomatoes but the ones they had were all soggy looking so I unfortunately had to pass. I love those little things, always so good and full of flavor!

Then I went home and washed it all. I got my cutting board and good knife out and started in on the bell peppers. Whenever cutting these, you want to make sure to wash the outside, then gut it and take all the seeds out of it. Next, when all the seeds are gone, wash it out again but just run it under some water to get all the remaining junk out that your knife couldn’t. I cut the bell peppers into slices then chopped the carrots and cucumber (with the cucumber you can shave the skin off, I didn’t because I like it but you can if you don’t). When all of these were sliced and diced I put them into little sandwich bags and in the fridge so I could put them in the cooler the next morning. Then I made a salad. Mainly I was making this for dinner but decided it would be a good little snack incase I got hungry on the road. So I washed to lettuce off and ripped it apart to be bite sized. Then I sliced some onion, put some carrots in it, and a little feta cheese (1 Tblsp). I put some into a container for me and into the fridge it went with the rest of the food until morning.

When morning came and I was about to leave for San Francisco, I got all my snacks from the fridge, including the naked juice and two grapefruit and put it all into my little cooler so I could get into it whenever I wanted during the trip. I also filled up my water bottle that is pretty big and put it in my purse. It was only a 3 and a half our car ride so I didn’t need that much especially because I ate breakfast. I ended up eating some bell pepper, cucumber, drinking some of my juice and lots of water.

When I got there I had my salad for lunch and it was all really good! I did miss my grape tomatoes though. These snacks are delicious and such a great substitute for the chips, candy bars, and other junk foods you usually get at the convenience stores. It is really healthy for you to eat vegetables throughout the day and whats a better way than carrying little baggies of them with you! Trust me, you will feel better when the time comes to thinking about what you ate all day and knowing you had healthy snacks instead of something you would feel bad about! I hope this helps you guys in your traveling habits! You can eat healthy while traveling you just have to want to and plan ahead! Thanks for reading and if you have any questions or comments I would be happy to hear them!

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

