Some tips

So far we have made three delicious dinners, and some awesome snacks. Along the way I have hinted at tips for you to cook more healthy and ways to stay healthy in between meals through small portions of vegetables and fruits. Today we are going to talk about more ways to cook healthily and some essential foods to help you with your health.

Basically any way of cooking is better than frying. Steaming for starters,  is one of the best ways to cook. It doesn’t use oil like other ways of cooking do and it traps in the natural flavors of the food, enhancing every bite with delicious taste. It is simple to do and very quick! You can steam with a steamer (which I use) and even with a steaming basket placed inside and above boiling water with the lid covering it. This is such a great way to cook vegetables especially. I don’t know about you, but I absolutely love steamed asparagus and carrots!

Another healthy way you can cook quickly and still have health on your side is by broiling. Broiling is a dry heat way of cooking without any extra oils and it takes very little amount of time depending on the thickness of your dish! When broiling, your heat comes from the top down so you want to place your dish accordingly. If it is thin you want to place it closer to the top so it gets cooked faster. I have used broiling when I have made chicken that has been marinating for the day and it turns out really good with a savory flavoring to it. We will have to make a dish with this method of cooking sometime!

Blueberries, spinach, garlic, and olive oil are among the many heathy super foods you can give your body. Blueberries are loaded with anti oxidants and are very good for you when you are sick. If you have a cough, be sure to eat tons of these little things; they will get rid of it in a heart beat!

Garlic!!!! I LOVE garlic as many of you know! I use it in everything! Garlic is also rich in anti oxidants and it is proven to ward off those unwanted colds as well! It is better to eat garlic raw but if you cook it you will still get some of the nutrients it provides. I either slice the garlic and add it to the dish after it is all cooked, or I crush it and stir it in the sautéing pan with the rest of my dish.

Spinach… oh spinach how I love you! A while ago I was on Pinterest and I saw this recipe for a super smoothie that called for a handful of spinach. At first I was like umm what?! that is gross! But then I tried it and now I add spinach to every smoothie I make myself! To say the least, I LOVED it! If you want the recipe let me know, ill be more than happy to tell you it! But man, is spinach delicious or what! I can eat this stuff raw, cooked, and even in smoothies 🙂 It is so good for you because it too has tons of anti oxidants in it and it possesses the ability to help with your memory and stress levels! So eat this baby up!

I have cooked with olive oil in almost all of the dishes I put on here. Olive oil is just one of those things you appreciate when you want a healthy enhancing flavor without adding tons of other artificial flavorings and fats! Olive oil helps with your blood pressure levels and cholesterol. I have shown you what Olive Oil I use and I love it! When I was in Italy I put olive oil and balsamic vinegar on all of my salads and I dipped bread in it as well! I just love the taste extra virgin olive oil has to it.

What I suggest is that you go to the store immediately and stock up on all of these foods! You can never go wrong if you add some of these to your daily diet. They are all so good, I never am without these foods at home myself. As for the different methods of cooking, we will try making something with each of these ways and see how they turn out for those of you who have never done some of them. Thanks for reading everyone! As always tips, suggestions, and questions are always welcome!

 

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some tips

  1. very good blog post. keep it up!

Leave a Reply

