Bruschetta without the bread!

I was looking for an Italian like recipe where I could incorporate the delicious natural flavors italians have in their dishes with something that isn’t so starchy and carb loaded and I found this! Seriously, if you have ever been to a proper Italian restaurant and had their Bruschetta you know what I am talking about. It is so good! I don’t know why but the different ingredient’s flavors compliment each other in the perfect way. The classic Bruschetta is with basil, olive oil, and tomatoes stacked on top of a garlic rubbed bread; this recipe includes it all except its on chicken! Exciting right?!

I didn’t have all of the ingredients with me so I took a field trip to the store and picked up a few more things as well to go along with the dish. With the chicken I also made some grilled asparagus and a spinach salad with strawberries and red onion. It was such a  good dinner I hope you guys like it as much as my family and I did. 

So lets start out with the ingredients you will need for the chicken:

4-5 boneless skinless chicken breast halves

1/2 cup KRAFT Sun-Dried tomato dressing, divided (I didn’t use this because I don’t like sun dried tomatoes, but feel free to use it!)

2 tomatoes, finely chopped,

1/2 cup shredded part- skim mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil or 1 tsp. dried basil leaves

Before you start cooking there is a little preparation you have to do. Start the grill for one, to let it heat up. When you start the grill you want to get a piece of tin foil and place it over half of the grill. Then get your tomatoes, wash them and start slicing and dicing. When the tomatoes are done measure out your basil, and shred your cheese. Place the basil, cheese, and tomatoes in a bowl and combine.

 

Then take your chicken outside to the grill and put it on the part without the tin foil to cook on one side. After about 6 minutes place the chicken on the tin foil with the uncooked side down, and put the dressing you made in the bowl on top of the chicken. Go back inside and cook for 8 minutes or until the chicken is done.  Cover the chicken on a plate with tin foil to keep it warm. 

Now for the asparagus, this is so simple and soooo good. Take the ends of the asparagus off like usual, wash the asparagus, and place them on a pate. Take some Extra Virgin Olive Oil and sprinkle it over the asparagus. Then toss them to make sure each are coated. After this I took some salt and garlic and sprinkled them over the asparagus. I also tossed them so they each had some of the seasonings on it. I took the plate out to the grill and laid them down in a row. I checked them every 2 minutes and took them off when they were bright green and crispy. Then I took some lemon and squirted it onto the asparagus to give it a certain zest that I love. 🙂

Spinach salad is just my favorite salad ever. With this salad I put red onion, strawberry, and about a tablespoon of goat cheese in it. I used Balsamic Vinegar and extra virgin olive oil as the dressing. It turned out great and went well with the whole meal. You don’t have to make this salad with goat cheese unless you want to. You could use feta or even cheddar, just remember to use it in moderation so its still healthy! 

Everyone loved this dinner and I definitely am going to make it again. Thanks to Christie and her blog  we all can be satisfied with this lean, healthy, Italian like dinner! I hope you guys try it and LOVE it like I did! If you want the full recipe go to Christie’s blog. She did a few things different than me and I bet it would satisfy most of your appetites! Thanks for reading guys and let me know what you think of this meal!

 

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

