Shake That.

If you are in a hurry like I was this morning its time to invest in a blender. One of my favorite breakfasts in the morning is a nice, refreshing, delicious smoothie. These guys take all of ten minutes if even to make. They are portable since you can put them in a cup and go, and they are loaded with fruits and in this case vegetables too! All you need is  cup of it and you are good to go for at least 2 hours, then you might want to consider one of the snacks we talked about earlier!

You guys are probably looking at the picture and thinking ummm ewww why is it green?! What could I have possibly done to turn the mangos and peaches that are in the smoothie green? Well here it is.. ready? I used spinach! When I first started making smoothies I was using just fruit and occasionally soy milk but now I use fruit, water and spinach most of the time. I know many of you are thinking that the spinach must make the smoothie taste like it too but you’re wrong! It actually just gives the smoothie a green look too it. But if you have super sensitive taste buds you might get a little tangy taste to your smoothie but it still tastes good I promise. Now before you go judging my smoothie you must try it out yourself. Like I said, it takes only like 10 minutes to make.

So first you have to make sure your fruit is frozen. If it isn’t don’t fret you can just add ice. But when it is frozen it tastes better! For this specific smoothie I used 1/2 cup each of mangos and peaches. They were both frozen so I didn’t have to add any ice but if you do I would say add about 1/2 cup also. Then you want to make sure your spinach is washed and grab a handful and toss it into the blender with the peaches and mango. You want your blender to be able to combine all of the ingredients so you need to add at least a cup of water if not more (it depends on how good your blender is). After, blend all of your ingredients and enjoy a cup of this awesome smoothie!

 

It was good right?!  Now, when you make smoothies keep in mind that you can add any other ingredient you want. For instance, sometimes I use bananas and put a little orange juice into it. Other times I put strawberries with bananas in it…sounds awesome huh! Have fun with the smoothies you make, they are so simple and delicious as well as healthy and can be a good on the go breakfast for anyone! Don’t forget to add your spinach though 😉 Thanks for reading guys and I hope many of you get to try this recipe out and experiment with others. Let me know what you think of it!

 

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

