Pizza my Heart


This is some seriously delicious pizza! Its home made and topped with some awesome ingredients. I know you can’t wait to try it so I’ll skip the introduction for now and get to the point.

What you will need (how much of each depends on how many people you are feeding) for the toppings:

Mushrooms

Green and red bell pepper

Spinach

White onion

Jalapeno

Mozzarella Cheese

Parmesan Cheese

Black Olives

chop all of these up as finely as you would like

Before you put the toppings on you have to make the dough and the marinera sauce. For the marinera you will need:

1/4 C Onion Finely Chopped

4 Cloves of Garlic minced

2 tsp Parsely

4 Tblsp Olive Oil

2 cans stewed or diced tomatoes that are seasoned in Oregano and Basil

Red pepper flakes to taste

1 8 oz. can of Tomato Sauce

8oz of Chicken Broth

2 tsp Pesto

The most important thing for the pizza is the dough! Now I made the dough in a bread machine so if you don’t have one then you can probably look up a recipe online! For the dough, depending on how much you want to make and the recipe your machine calls for you will need no matter what

flour

olive oil

warm water

salt

sugar

dry yeast

Directions:

make the dough by following the directions in the recipe book of the bread machine. When the dough is done cover it in olive oil then lay it on a floured surface. Roll the dough to get it as flat as you can. The dough will keep bouncing back to its original shape so you have to toss the dough (if you can) and then hang it so it stretches out. Then when this is done put it on a pizza pan and top with your marinera sauce.

To make the marinera sauce.. which is amazing by the way 🙂 you have to Brown the onion, garlic, and parsley in a sauce pan in olive oil. Then you add the cans of the seasoned tomatoes and smash them into the browned mixture. While the pan is still on add some red pepper flakes, the tomato sauce, chicken broth, and pesto. Simmer for 1 hour on low, then let it sit for 3o minutes to cool. Spread it on the dough before putting the toppings on. 

The next step is fun. Shred your cheese and spread it all over the pizza dough with the marinera sauce on it. Then take your topping ingredients and put as much of those on that you would like. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F and then cook the pizza on the pizza pan for about 15 minutes. After 15 minutes take the pizza off the pan and put it directly onto the oven rack for another 10 minutes or until the crust is crispy.

Remove the pizza from the oven and let it cool for 10 minutes. Then sprinkle some Parmesan on top of it, and if you’re like me some hot sauce, and enjoy!

I am really picky about the pizza I eat, especially since I got back from Italy. The pizza we can order here is so expensive and not even that good, so I decided to make my own pizza one day and it turned out great! My family and I love it and it is so easy to do and you can customize your pizza so that there are all of the delicious ingredients you like on it! For the healthy people you can even make the dough whole wheat! And you don’t have to put the cheese on it if you don’t want. In fact I almost left the cheese off and ended up putting it on after all the veggies were already on it, whoops!

Anyways, I hope you guys enjoy this recipe as much as I do! Let me know how you make your pizza and what you put on it. There are so many options and different toppings you can put on to spice up your pizza and enjoy it to the fullest. You won’t want to eat out after you try this!!!Thanks for reading!

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pizza my Heart

  1. jparkhurst07 says:

    This looks delicious! I made a pizza last night with Roasted Red pepper sauce, have you ever tried that before?

Leave a Reply

