Something Simple

Although this is very simple and only a small portion of the meal, its quite amazing. It is this broccoli recipe I got from a blog and I fell in love with the very first time I made it. There is something about it that makes me want to make it for every meal but I have to try new things out ever now and then.

So this recipe, like I said, I got from this blog called Amateur Gourmet by Adam Roberts. He has some great recipes on his blog and this is definitely one of them. He calls it “the best broccoli of your life” and I don’t think he is wrong in saying this! There is a crunch, there is a zest, there is a firm, and there is CHEESE. Once you taste this broccoli, (which you must) I think you will love it as much as I do! alright so enough about how absolutely amazing it is and on with the recipe!

You want to first preheat your oven to 425. Then get like 3 bunches of broccoli and cut it into florets leaving the stem on. I know a lot of you don’t like to eat this part but trust me, its a must have to this recipe. SO after you have your florets cut, if you wash them make sure they are COMPLETELY dry, otherwise they won’t get the crunchy texture to them. I usually don’t wash mine since it is just going in the 425 degree oven. This saves some time and a lot of paper towels.

Now you have a preheated oven and DRY broccoli florets. Next you want to toss your broccoli in olive oil and dash with salt and pepper. Make sure to put your broccoli on a cookie sheet covered with tin foil so you don’t make a mess on your counter top! Sometimes instead of tossing them on a cookie sheet I get a large bowl and do it in there to make sure there is a thin coat on all of them.  Then get some garlic, about 4-5 cloves, peel and slice them then add to your cookie sheet of broccoli.

Next is the hard part…waiting. By this time all you want to do is eat and taste these amazing little trees but you have to slow your roll and place your cookie sheet in the oven for about 20-25 minutes. You want to get your broccoli crispy and tender at the same time. When the tops start to look brown, you’re about there.

After what seems like forever, take your broccoli out of the oven and pay attention because this is when it gets really good. Take a lemon and a cheese grater and zest (grade) the lemon all over the broccoli. Then with the same lemon squeeze some of that fresh juice over it as well. Take your olive oil again and sprinkle 1.5 Tblsp over it and then add the finishing touch, the cheese! Parmesan cheese is what I use and I usually just follow the directions Adam has on his blog and use 1/3 cup of fresh grated Parmesan.

All of these ingredients combine to make the “best broccoli of your life” and you will totally agree with me on this when you try it! I especially love the crispiness it has to it and then the lemon zest and parmesan cheese are also my favorite part to this dish. You will have to try it out yourself and let me know what you like best and if you don’t want to make this all of the time like me!

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

