Creamy Pesto Shrimp

This is one of my favorite meals to make. I think its because it is so absolutely delicious. It is nothing like anything pesto the Italians make but at this point, I don’t even care!

I tried this recipe out the first time about two years ago when I was on All Recipes browsing through just to see what sounded good. When I found this I wasn’t too sure what to make of it since I don’t really like pesto. The thing that got me was the parmesan added into the pesto sauce to make it creamy! With this dish I usually make a vegetable or a salad or both. I think that a nice lemon asparagus side would be lovely and compliment the dish really well.

Since you don’t have to make your own pesto, unless you want to of course, this meal doesn’t take that long to make. The ingredients you will need for this shrimp dish are:

1 pound of linguini pasta

1/2 cup of butter

2 cups of heavy cream

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 cup of grated Parmesan cheese

1/3 cup of Pesto

1 pound of large shrimp, peeled and deveined.

When you have all of your ingredients prepared you then want to take a large pot of water and bring it to a boil. Add some salt to it and put the linguini pasta in. Cook the noodles for about 8 to 10 minutes to until they are al dente. Then drain the noodles. What I do to keep them from sticking to each other is pour a little olive oil over them and this will make them not harden or get sticky.

While the noodles are cooking get a large skillet, melt the butter. Then stir in the cream and add the seasonings. Put it on medium low heat and cook for 6 to 8 minutes always stirring so it does not burn or stick to the skillet. After the time is up take the Parmesan and stir it in, this is my favorite part:) Make sure it is all mixed in and then blend the Pesto in and cook for 3 to 5 more minutes until it is nice and thick.

When the consistency is what you want it to be take the shrimp and put it into the sauce. Cook these for 5 minutes on each side. You want to make sure the shrimp are pink and cooked. Then by this time your noodles should be done and you are ready to chow down.

I got this recipe from all recipes, this is one of my favorite sites when I am looking for something nice and simple to make. There are a lot of great recipes on this site. You all should take a look at it, make this recipe and try some of your own. Then let me know how you liked them all!

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

