Sketti time!

Tonight we will be having a traditional Italian dish. I can’t say it is made authentically to be Italian but it is pretty close. Actually in Italy, Pasta with red sauce is made differently in the different regions of Italy. Tonight, we will just say we are our own region of Italy making our red sauce our own unique way to add on top of some spaghetti! 

So to get started you will need :

spaghetti noodles

2 15.5 ounce cans of diced tomatoes seasoned with garlic and oregano

1 can of chicken broth

1 cup of your favorite spaghetti sauce (you can see mine in the picture)

1/4 cup of finely chopped onion

4 cloves of finely chopped garlic

4 tbsp of olive oil

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1/4 cup sharp cheddar cheese

I also put some red pepper flakes in mine but that is because I like to make my sauce spicy! SO now that you have all of your ingredients you need to get a sauce pan out and a pot you can boil your noodles in.

Fill the pot with water and bring to a boil. Add your spaghetti noodles and sprinkle some salt in the water to flavor the noodles a little. cook for about 8 minutes or until the noodles are al a dente (not hard but not soggy) these are healthier for you and they way Italians eat their noodles!

While the noodles are cooking in your sauce pan put in the olive oil with the onion and garlic. Sautee until the onion is clear and the garlic is just brown then add your diced tomatoes. Smash these tomatoes until they are more like a puree. Then add your chicken broth and spaghetti sauce and let it all simmer together for about 3 minutes. Next add the cheeses and any other spices (like the red pepper flakes) if you want. By this time your noodles should be done. Drain them and let the red sauce cool down a little.

I always like to enjoy my spaghetti with some green bean or salad or both. So if you are like me, whip up a quick salad and enjoy this delicious Italian dinner! Enjoy with a responsible glass of red wine perhaps and after, if you’re up for the challenge… make some Tiramisu! It’s not that hard I promise. let me know what you guys think!

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

