Roasted Chicken

I had a soccer game tonight and I wanted to make something that wasn’t going to be too heavy and that would be semi easy to make…it was a long day for me. So I saw that my mom had bought a chicken, a whole chicken that was about two pounds. It wasn’t cut up or anything so I was thinking on what to do with it.. rotisserie or bake? Since we have already made a rotisserie chicken I figured it was time for something new.

What you need for this recipe is a whole chicken

pepper

salt

lemon pepper

and olive oil

First you have to wash the inside and the outside of the chicken. You should probably use rubber gloves unless you like things like that. So then you clean the chicken out and throw all the insides away, I kept the liver because my parents love them. Then you need to rinse it out again and peel the excess skin off of it. After your chicken is all gutted and clean rub it down with some olive oil. Oh yeah, I should probably tell you to preheat your oven to 375 degrees F on ROAST. So back to rubbing the chicken… after it is all coated in olive oil you want to sprinkle lemon pepper all over it with a little bit of salt. If you want to make it more spice-y then you can add some oregano or basil or any other spices you like. 

Place your 2 pound chicken in a roasting pan and stick it in the oven for an hour. Then 425F for 15 minutes at the end. This will brown the skin and make it a little more firm. When you’re chicken is done roasting take it out and slice it up. Make sure its not too over done. If your chicken is less than 2 pounds then look up the roasting time for the size of your chicken. You do not want to get it too done because then your meat will be too dry and not nice and moist!

With your chicken you can make some beans or you can even make noodles and some red sauce or even white sauce and put the chicken in it too. There are a lot of things you can make with this chicken, I just enjoyed it with some salad 🙂 So I hope you like this way of making chicken, its kind of like a turkey recipe but with chicken!

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

