Eggs Benedict

Its a tradition to dye eggs and go hunting for them and then see who got the most in their Easter baskets for some families. But in my family, it is a tradition to eat Eggs Benedict for Easter breakfast. YUM!  Usually my dad makes it, but this time I took the liberty and decided to take control in the kitchen and give my family a great breakfast! Along with some fresh strawberries and cuties, I would say breakfast was a success.

There really isn’t that much to making Eggs Benedict, especially when you cheat a little and make the Hollandaise sauce from a packet :D. Basically all you have to do is poach your eggs, get some canadian bacon and cook it up a little (its usually already cooked unless you get it raw), toast your english muffins, and make your Hollandaise sauce.I thought it was going to be quite the challenge to poach the eggs but we actually have a little egg poacher pan that does it for you so it made my life easier!

After you have all of these ingredients and it all cooked up, you want to take your english muffin,and if you want you can do what I did and put a slice of cheese on it, and stick it in the toaster oven for a minute or two. This will give your enlist muffin a bit of crispiness and melt your cheese too. Then put your Canadian bacon on it along with the poached egg on top of that and then cover it with some Hollandaise and sprinkle nutmeg on it! If you are a hot sauce fanatic like me then Tobasco is what I like best to put on it. It gives the breakfast a little extra kick that I LOVE. Otherwise just serve it up with some fruit, I used strawberries and some cuties. Sometimes it is even great with some asparagus and if you want, you can even make some hash browns to go with it. I have never done this but if you are a big breakfast person then maybe you would like it!

The whole meal turned out great! I was looking forward to having this since this last week and when I finally got to have it, I celebrated:) I love having family meals and on a holiday like this, with a meal like this, there is never a better time to have one! I hope you guys get to make this. If you have never had it before then you DEFINITELY have to try it out! You will fall in love. Let me know what you think!

About Kevyn Holden

I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno; a senior. I am majoring in Business Management and plan to graduate this year. Traveling is a passion of mine. I studied in Turin, Italy from January 2011 to May 2011. I attended part of the business school SAA and studied Italian culture, business entrepreneurship, and Italian Cuisine. After that I traveled through Europe tasting different cultures' food, learning about their customs and country and I fell in love. I have two younger sisters, one who also attends UNR. I have played soccer my whole life and now I just play for fun. I am aspiring to own my own restaurant one day because I love to cook and bake and I am learning how to manage effectively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment